Bury St Edmunds County High School

Our Staff

Leadership Team

Ms Kennedy


Mr Jeffery

Head of School (Oliver Road)

Mrs Thuell

Deputy Headteacher (Pastoral), DSL

Mr Stevenson

Deputy Headteacher (Curriculum)

Mr Benson

Assistant Headteacher (Inclusions/SENDCo)

Mrs Hart

Assistant Headteacher (Oliver Road)

Mr Marshall

Assistant Headteacher (Beyond the Curriculum)

Mrs Middleditch

Assistant Headteacher (Aspiration within the Curriculum)

Mr Moore

Assistant Headteacher (Oliver Road)

Middle Leaders


Head of Year 7: Mrs Hart (Oliver Road)

Head of Year 8: Mr Moore (Oliver Road)

Head of Year 9: Mr Hamill

Head of Year 10: Mrs Taylor

Head of Year 11: Mr Brown

Head of Sixth Form: Mr Harrison / Mr Turner


Head of English: Ms Ahmed

Reading Co-ordinator: Mrs Lewis

English Co-ordinator: Mrs Dowsing

Head of KS3 English: Miss Meakin (Oliver Road)

Head of Maths: Miss Colson (from Jan 2024)

Maths Co-ordinator: Dr Elliott-Sands

Head of KS3 Maths: Mrs Crichton (Oliver Road)

Head of Science (and Head of Biology): Mrs O’Neill

Deputy Head of Science: Dr Hanfrey

Head of KS3 Science: Mrs De Jongh (Oliver Road)

Head of Physics: Ms Pascoe

Head of Computer Science: Mr Haysom (Mr Hyndman from November 2023)

Head of Humanities: Mr Childs-Bennett

Head of KS3 Humanities: Mrs Burgess (Oliver Road)

Head of Geography: Mr O’Leary

Head of Religious Studies/Beliefs and Values: Miss Meakin

Head of Languages: Mr Goodchild

Head of KS3 Languages: Miss Conroy (Oliver Road)

Head of Performing & Visual Arts: Mr Perry

Head of Drama: Mr Crane

Head of Art: Miss Bowman

Head of KS3 Art & DT: Mrs Z Ryder (Oliver Road)

Head of PE: Mr Leppard

Head of KS3 PE: Mr Kent

Teaching Staff

Miss Ahmed

Ms Ash

Mr Benson

Miss Bowman

Miss Brawn

Mr Brown

Mrs Browning

Mrs Burgess (Oliver Road)

Mrs Burrows (Oliver Road)

Mr Childs-Bennett

Miss Colson (from Jan 24)

Miss Conroy (Oliver Road)

Mr Crane

Mrs Crichton (Oliver Road)

Mrs De Jongh (Oliver Road)

Mr Derbyshire

Mrs Dowsing

Dr Elliott-Sands

Mr Goodchild

Mrs Griffin

Mr Hamill

Dr Hanfrey

Mr Harrison

Mrs Hart (Oliver Road)

Mr Heaton

Miss Holton

Mrs Horrocks

Mr Hyndman

Mr Jefferies

Mr Jeffery (Oliver Road)

Mrs Jenkins (Oliver Road)

Mr Jermy

Ms Kennedy

Mr Kent (Oliver Road)

Mrs Kington

Mr Leppard

Mrs Lewis

Miss Longden

Mrs Loughton

Mr McArthur

Mr Marshall

Miss Meakin

Miss Meakin (Oliver Road)

Mrs Middleditch

Mr Moore (Oliver Road)

Mr O’Leary

Mrs O’Neill

Miss Pascoe

Mrs Peasey

Mr Perry

Mr Ramakrishnan

Mrs Ranson (Oliver Road)

Mr Rayson

Mr Reading (Oliver Road)

Mrs Rossiter (Oliver Road)

Mrs Ryder (Oliver Road)

Mrs Sauvage

Mr Sharman

Ms Smith (Oliver Road)

Miss Stannard

Mr Staples

Mr Stevenson

Ms Taylor

Mrs aylor

Mrs Thuell

Ms Townsend

Mr Turner

Miss Warne

Support Staff


Head’s PA & Office Manager: Mrs White


Receptionist: Mrs Brinkley

Senior Administrator: Mrs Bryant

Reprographics Technician: Ms Collins

Data Assistant: Mrs Dolby

Senior Finance Assistant: Mrs Frew

Exams Officer: Mrs Gannaway

Cover Administrator: Mrs Harley

Events & Careers Admin: Mrs Harman

Data Manager: Mrs Hill

Senior Administrator: Mrs Sewter (Oliver Road)

Student Services Admin: Miss Swan

Senior Administrator: Mrs Underhill (Oliver Road)

Finance Manager: Mrs Vaughan

Receptionist: Mrs Weaver (Oliver Road)



Librarian: Mrs Cox

Librarian: Mrs Harvey



Assistant SENDCO: Mrs Howell


LSA: Mrs Davey

LSA: Mrs Denny (Oliver Road)

LSA: Mrs Earle

LSA: Mrs Gittus (Oliver Road)

LSA: Mrs Mayer-Baker (Oliver Road)

LSA: Mrs Wotton



Deputy DSL: Miss Cooper

Cover Supervisor: Mr Fenner (Oliver Road)

Pastoral/Attendance: Ms McKie


Pastoral: Miss Broomfield

Pastoral: Mrs Cunningham (Oliver Road)

Pastoral: Mr Kharbouch

Pastoral: Miss McRae (Oliver Road)

Pastoral: Mrs Scallan


Site Team

Senior Caretaker: Mr Rees


Caretaker: Mr Bird (Oliver Road)

Residential Caretaker: Mr Nolan



Technician: Mr Baker


Technician: Ms Barker

Technician: Miss James

Technician: Mrs Lafond

Technician: Mrs Murrell (Oliver Road)

Technician: Mr Williams